62 replies to this topic

#1 mysticalmoose

mysticalmoose

CHARGE!

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 10:55 PM

I've built one computer in my life, and it's the one i have been using for the past two years. It has worked nearly flawlessly (a few little hiccups that I fixed myself), but now i have a problem that my limited computer knowledge is unable to fix. The other day, I went to turn on my computer, and it booted up normally, got to my desktop, then suddenly died. It has not been able to turn on since. What happens is it turns on for litterally a flash, than dies. The only reason i know it even starts to turn on is because all the fans in my computer do like 1/18 of a rotation, than stop. this onlyl happens when i unplug my computer, wait a minute, and plug it back in. when i don't do that, it just doesn't respond to the on button being pushed. So far i've tried everything i can think of, and havent had any luck. If anyones got any ideas, i would love to hear them, as i am kinda in need of my computer for school work.

Also, i'm not sure if this is relevant (i kinda hope it's not), but about a week ago I was playing B&W 2, (kinda graphically hard for the computer) and my computer just died. This problem I actually fixed, by looking inside my computer and finding it full of dust (the area between the GPU fan and heatsink was completely blocked off, so no air got to the GPU at all.) Given that, i decided that my gpu had overheated, causing the computer to automatically turn off. Once i had let the GPU cool down, and cleaned out all the dust, I booted up and my computer worked fine for about a week, untill this incidedn i just talked about.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

#2 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

rog'er wilco

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,847 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 11:14 PM